There should be a flash banner here. There are 2 main reasons why you may not be able to see it:
  • You do not have the required version of Flash MX installed (v8.0+) in your browser
  • JavaScript is disabled in your browser

Barwell Finalises Its 2013 Lineup

Barwell Motorsport has revealed the full list of drivers for its three-car GT3 programme for 2013, which will feature a brace of BMW Z4s and an Aston Martin Vantage.

The Aston crew of Richard Abra and Mark Poole has been known for some time, but we've had to wait until today for confirmation of the BMW drivers.

Olly Bryant returns to the Barwell-run Ecurie Ecosse fold and will be joined in the team's new Z4 by Marco Attard, who had selected races in 2012 in a GT4 Lotus and GT3 Lamborghini.

Meanwhile, last year's Ecurie Ecosse BMW has been upgraded to 2013 specification and will be raced under the ‘Ecurie Ecosse with Barwell Motorsport’ banner by former Speedworks Corvette duo Ron Johnson and Piers Johnson. Piers previously raced for Barwell in British GT in 2006 and also raced the team's DBR9 in the FIA GT Championship Silverstone round in 2007 alongside Jonny Cocker.

“I am hugely excited about the season ahead,” said Barwell Team Principal, Mark Lemmer. “The last time we had a three-car squad in British GT all of them claimed race wins, and that is certainly our goal again for this year. Although some of our drivers are quite inexperienced, we are confident that they will make rapid progress as the season plays out.”

The news brings the GT3 total – by DSC’s calculations – to 26, as follows:

1) 888Optimum – BMW Z4 – Lee Mowle/Joe Osborne
2) 888Optimum – BMW Z4 – Steve Tandy/Dan Brown
3) AF Corse – Ferrari 458 – John Dhillon/Aaron Scott
4) Barwell Motorsport – Aston Martin Vantage – Richard Abra/Mark Poole
5) Beechdean Motorsport – Aston Martin Vantage – Andrew Howard/Jonny Adam
6) Ecurie Ecosse – BMW Z4 – Marco Attard/Olly Bryant
7) Ecurie Ecosse with Barwell Motorsport – BMW Z4 GT3 – Ron Johnson/Piers Johnson
8) FF Corse – Ferrari 458 – Gary Eastwood/Rob Barff
9) Fortec Motorsports – Mercedes AMG SLS – TBA/TBA
10) Fortec Motorsports – Mercedes AMG SLS – TBA/TBA
11) Ginetta – Ginetta G55 – Richard Sykes/Lawrence Tomlinson
12) IDL Racing with CWS – Ginetta G55 – Colin White/Tom Sharp
13) Motorbase – Porsche 911 GT3 – Ahmad Al Harthy/Michael Caine
14) MTECH – Ferrari 458 –TBA/TBA
15) PGF-Kinfaun AMR – Aston Martin Vantage – Phil Dryburgh/John Gaw
16) Preci-Spark – Mercedes AMG SLS – David Jones/Godfrey Jones
17) Rosso Verde – Ferrari 458 – Hector Lester/Allan Simonsen
18) Team Nigeria Racing Eagle – Audi R8 LMS – Christian Ebong/Adrian Zaugg
19) Team rhino's Leipert Motorsport – Lamborghini Gallardo LP600 – TBA/TBA
20) Trackspeed – Porsche 911 GT3 R – Jon Minshaw/Phil Keen
21) Trackspeed – Porsche 911 GT3 R – Gregor Fisken/Richard Westbrook
22) United Autosports – McLaren MP4-12C – Zak Brown/Alvaro Parente
23) United Autosports – McLaren MP4-12C – Richard Meins/Mark Blundell
24) United Autosports – Audi R8 LMS ultra – Mark Patterson/Matt Bell
25) Vita4One Italia – Ferrari 458 – TBA/TBA
26) TBA – Audi R8 LMS ultra – TBA/TBA