There should be a flash banner here. There are 2 main reasons why you may not be able to see it:
  • You do not have the required version of Flash MX installed (v8.0+) in your browser
  • JavaScript is disabled in your browser

VLN, 43rd Adenauer ADAC Rundstrecken-Trophy – Race Report
A First Win For The R8 Ultra

Having been victorious at the 24H race recently, Team Phoenix’s Marc Basseng and Frank Stippler followed up on their series of victories for Audi at the Nürburgring Nordschleife with a win in the 43rd Adenauer ADAC Rundstrecken-Trophy; at the same time marking the first VLN win for the Audi R8 LMS ultra.

After a race time of 4:01:06.777, the #15 took the chequered flag with a lead of 46.890 seconds ahead of Alexander Roloff and Jan Seyffarth in the #7 ROWE Racing Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3. The podium was completed by Christopher Haase and Luca Ludwig in the second Phoenix R8.

Stippler had earlier taken pole with a time of 8:05.783 minutes; “I had an almost clear lap in which I had to pass only two cars – and this doesn’t happen very often,” said the Audi driver. “Furthermore, the cold but dry conditions were just perfect to take advantage of the maximum performance of the engine.” This starting position was the basis for the later success of the driver duo. “We were thus able build up a small advantage,” added Basseng who celebrated his 23rd victory in the endurance racing championship. “Our Audi was running absolutely perfectly throughout the entire race so that we managed to defend our lead.”

It was only during their first pit stop that Basseng and Stipler lost their lead for one lap. Rologg and Seyffarth were very happy finishing second. “Considering the amount of bad luck we’ve had this season, a podium position is really fantastic,” said Seyffart. “Right after the start, we gained some positions and were then able to get close to the leaders. We didn’t make it to the top of the podium today but we will see at the next round.”

Haase and Ludwig missed out on second place by just 1.581 seconds. “I was pushing very hard during the last laps," said Haase. "Due to two yellow flag sections on the track, however, we didn’t make it – we would have needed one more race lap.” In fourth position came Martin Ragginger and Sebastian Asch in the #27 Falken Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3. The top five was completed by Henri Moser, Kai Riemer and Rudi Adams in the #24 Dörr Motorsport McLaren MP4; the best result so far for the British GT3 sportscar.

The fastest Cup Porsche was driven by Christian Menzel and Wolfgang Kohler who finished sixth ine the #96 Manthey Racing car. Andreas and Ralf Schall, meanwhile, finished the race in 29th place overall; the winners in Group H thus demonstrating in an impressive way the potential in the quite aged former DTM Mercedes Benz.

The fastest VLN series production car, the #32 BMW Z4 of Scuderia Augustusburg Brühl driven by Dieter Weidenbrück and Markus Schmickler, was 32nd overall. The victory in the Renault Clio Cup class went to the #662 MSC Adenau e.V. car of Helmut and Horst Baumann.

After four of ten rounds, Markus Fugel and Uwe Wächtler now lead the championship. This driver duo has won their class of VLN Specials up to 2000 cc cylinder capacity in all the races so far.

In second position are Wolfgang Weber, Norbert Bermes and Marcel Belka, who celebrated their third victory in the Aston Martin Vantage. Belka is also shown in the lead of the VLN Junior Trophy. The results of the 43rd ADAC Rundstrecken-Trophy and the championship standing remain provisional due to a post-event technical check to be carried out in class V4. The results in this class were suspended, too.

The fifth round of the year, the 52nd ADAC Reinoldus-Langstreckenrennen, will take place on July 7th. The four-hour race will be the final round of the first half of the VLN endurance racing championship season at the Nürburgring.