There should be a flash banner here. There are 2 main reasons why you may not be able to see it:
  • You do not have the required version of Flash MX installed (v8.0+) in your browser
  • JavaScript is disabled in your browser

ADAC GT Masters Season Preview
25 Full-Season Entries

When the 2013 edition of the ADAC GT Masters kicks off this Saturday at Oschersleben, we will see another year with a slight decrease in entries with 25 cars signed up; but, as in the past, it’s another high-quality field, which still allows all pro line-ups.

Over the winter, defending champions MS Racing has switched its allegiance from Mercedes Benz to Audi, purchasing two new Audi R8 LMS ultra. Defending champion driver Sebastian Asch is back with the team and he will share the car with Florian Stoll, who has been a MS Racing stalwart. In the second Audi we will see the first ADAC GT Masters racer from India, with Aditya Patel sharing the car with Daniel Dobitsch.

The other 2013 champion, Maximilian Götz, is sticking with the SLS AMG GT3. He has joined the line-up of HTP Motorsport, the successor to Heico Motorsport, where he will partner with Maximilian Buhk. The second HTP car will be driven by Andreas Simonsen and Sergey Afanasiev. In the past few years the SLS enjoyed big success in the GT Masters but for 2013 only HTP has decided to stay with the gullwinged sportscar.

But back to the Audi stable: Also a newcomer to the sportscar from Ingolstadt is Yaco Racing, which - after fielding two Chevrolet Camaro GT3s in 2012 - has entered a solo Audi R8 LMS ultra. The driver line up of Philip Geipel and Dino Lunardi will be a force to be reckoned with, as Lunardi knows the Audi from his Saintéloc Racing endeavours and Geipel has been a quick driver in mid-engine sports cars.

The big Audi squad will be Prosperia C.Abt Racing, where Christian Abt has taken the reigns as team owner, fielding three R8 LMS ultras. The pairing of René Rast and Christopher Mies should be one of the championship contenders, while the Chris Mamerow and Christer Jöns duo is also a high-quality one. The third car, which has been signed up just this past week, will see Markus Winkelhock paired with Rahel Frey. The Swiss lady could very well be the first women to score a podium finish or even a win in Germany’s premiere GT championship.

A mainstay since the ADAC GT Masters inception has been Callaway Motorsport and of course they are back with their beautiful Chevrolet Corvette Z.06 GT3, fielding four cars in total. Daniel Keilwitz/ Diego Alessi and Christian Hohenadel/ Andreas Wirth are both pairings that are certainly capable of producing a championship-winning campaign during the 16-race season. Toni Seiler is gunning once again for the amateur championship and has signed up a very strong partner in Niclas Kentenich, while the fourth ‘Vette sees Remo Lips share driving duties with Lennart Marionek, another young and upcoming racer.

After announcing their intentions to move to the British GT Championship for 2013, rhino’s Team Leipert Motorsport has had a change of heart and will field two of their Lamborghini Gallardo FL2 in the German championship. Frank Schmickler will share one car with David Mengesdorf, while the second Lamborghini will be piloted by Fabian Hamprech and Eduard Leganov.

In 2012 Schubert Motorsport was fielding just a single BMW Z4 GT3, but the duo of Claudia Hürtgen and Dominik Schwager was able to win multiple races throughout the year; what they were missing for a championship, though, was just a little bit of luck. Schubert has registered two Z4s for this year, which will see Hürtgen partnered with GT3 Euro Champion Dominik Baumann and have Jörg Müller commit to a full GT Masters season together with Max Sandritter. A third BMW Z4 comes from DB Motorsport for Simon Knap and Jeroen den Boer.

The biggest portion of the GT Masters field is made up from Porsche, with six 911 GT3 Rs on the entry list.

Farnbacher Racing has lodged entries for three 911s. Allan Simonsen will be back with the team of Horst Farnbacher and will work together with young and upcoming racing girl Christina Nielsen, while Mario Farnbacher will have Philipp Frommenwiler as his team mate. The third car is for Jürg Aeberhard and Thomas Pivoda. Herbert Motorsport is back with two Porsche 911 GT3 Rs - in the past they fielded the cars for FroGreen and GT3 Kasko. Alfred Renauer will share one car with René Bordeaux, while the second car with Martin Ragginger and Robert Renauer should be a championship contender. The final car comes from Schütz Motorsport and, with last year’s fulltime driver Nick Tandy moving up to the Porsche works driver squad, the team has found a very suitable replacement in Nicolas Armindo, who will share the Porsche with Christian Engelhart.

Single car full-season entries come from Lambda Performance, which is debuting its new Ford GT GT3 – the car has been developed on the GTE-version of the US cult car, and will have a strong driver squad in Nico Verdonck and Frank Kechele – while Aston Martin is represented by Fischer Racing with Gabriele Gardel and Lorenz Frey, who also share the Vantage GT3 in the Blancpain Endurance Series but under the Young Driver banner.

In addition to the fulltime entries there have also been six part-time entries: ProSpeed Competition join the field later in the season, with Charles Espenlaub and Charles Putman slated to drive the Belgian Porsche 911 GT3 R; RWT Racing is planning on fielding a Corvette for Sven Barth and Gerd Beisel; Kremer Racing will have Fredy Kremer in a Ferrari F458 GT3 for at least one race weekend; while also logging guest entries, but having announced no drivers yet, are MRS GT Racing (McLaren MP4-12C GT3), GRT Grasser Racing Team (Lamborghini Gallardo FL2) and Schulze Motorsport (Nissan GT3-R).

Sören Herweg