There should be a flash banner here. There are 2 main reasons why you may not be able to see it:
  • You do not have the required version of Flash MX installed (v8.0+) in your browser
  • JavaScript is disabled in your browser

British GT Launches 2013 Season

SRO’s Kensington offices hosted an impressive launch this evening for the 2013 Avon Tyres British GT Championship with the promise of a grid of 30 plus cars for the opening round in just three weeks time.

The launch featured roadgoing and racing supercars, a routemaster bus (appropriately an RML!!), liveried London taxi and some ever so slightly self concious looking racing drivers, suited, booted and helmeted amongst the London rush hour traffic and commuters.

The provisional entry is as strong a list as we’ve ever seen for the Championship, with additional GT4 cars likely before the season starts we hear.

Amongst the latest additions to the numbers are the expected entry from M-Sport Racing as Malcom Wilson’s Cockermouth based squad ramp up for their Bentley GT3 efforts.  For now the team is fielding an Audi R8 LMS Ultra for Warren Hughes and Dutch racer Rembert Berg, but the clear intention is that the new Bentley will be on track as soon as practicable.

Fortec’s driver line-ups for their pair of Mercedes is still TBA but due to be announced very soon we hear.

MTECH have confirmed a pair of Ferraris for Duncan Cameron/ Matt Griffin and for ex-Radical and Ferrari one make racer (plus reigning GT Cup champion) Derek Johnston.

The Nigeria Racing Eagle squad are launching their efforts tomorrow in central London but are looking to enter an Audi R8 LMS in at least four British GT rounds.  They feature ex-A1GP star Adrian Zaugg on their driver line-up.

Marco Attard is confirmed as partnering Oliver Bryant in the Ecurie Ecosse BMW; the team’s brand new car shook down this week and is set to test again before the start of the season.

More tomorrow.

Provisional Entry List

1 Motorbase Ahmad Al Harthy/ Michael Caine Porsche 997GT3 R GT3
3 Rosso Verde Hector Lester/ Allan Simonsen Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GT3
6 PGF-Kinfaun AMR Phil Dryburgh/ John Gaw Aston Martin Vantage GT3 GT3
7 Beechdean AMR Andrew Howard/ Jonny Adam Aston Martin Vantage GT3 GT3
8 888 Optimum Lee Mowle/ Joe Osborne BMW Z4 GT3 GT3
10 M-Sport Racing Rembert Berg/ Warren Hughes Audi R8 LMS Ultra GT3
11 PE Group Blendini Moto Dom Evans/ Tom Roche Audi R8 LMS GT3
13 AF Corse John Dhillon/ Aaron Scott Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GT3
14 Fortec tba tba Mercedes AMG SLS GT3 GT3
15 Fortec tba tba Mercedes AMG SLS GT3 GT3
16 LNT Richard Sykes/ Lawrence Tomlinson G55 Ginetta GT3 GT3
18 FF Corse Gary Eastwood/ Rob Barff Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GT3
21 Mtech Duncan Cameron/ Matt Griffin Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GT3
22 Preci Spark David Jones/ Godfrey Jones Mercedes AMG SLS GT3 GT3
23 United Autosports Zak Brown/ Alvaro Parente/Rob Bell McLaren MP412C GT3
24 United Autosports Richard Meins/ Mark Blundell McLaren MP412C GT3
25 United Autosports Mark Patterson/ Matt Bell Audi R8 LMS Ultra GT3
27 Vita4one Team Italy Jay Palmer/ Matteo Bobbi Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GT3
32 Trackspeed Gregor Fisken/ Richard Westbrook Porsche 997GT3 R GT3
33 Trackspeed Jon Minshaw/ Phil Keen Porsche 997GT3 R GT3
41 Mtech Derek Johnston/ Parthiva Sureshwaren Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GT3
43 Century Motorsport Zoe Wenham/ Declan Jones Ginetta G50 GT4
44 Optimum Motorsport Ryan Ratcliffe/ Rick Parfitt Jnr Ginetta G50 GT4
50 Redgate Lifetime Matt Smith/ Dan Eagling Ginetta G50 GT4
51 Nigeria Racing Eagle Christian Ebong/ Adrian Zaugg Audi R8 LMS GT3
53 Complete Racing Steven Chaplin/ Tom Wilson Aston Martin GT4 GT4
69 APO Sport James May/ Alex Osborne Ginetta G50 GT4
76 IDL-CWS Colin white/ Tom Sharp G55 Ginetta GT3 GT3
78 Barwell Motorsport Ron Johnson/ Piers Johnson BMW Z4 GT3 GT3
79 Ecurie Ecosse Marco Attard/ Oliver Bryant BMW Z4 GT3 GT3
80 Barwell Motorsport Mark Poole/ Richard Abra Aston Martin Vantage GT3 GT3
86 GPRM tba/ Stefan Hodgetts Toyota GT86 GT4
888 888 Optimum Steve Tandy/ Dan Brown BMW Z4 GT3 GT3