There should be a flash banner here. There are 2 main reasons why you may not be able to see it:
  • You do not have the required version of Flash MX installed (v8.0+) in your browser
  • JavaScript is disabled in your browser

ADAC GT Masters, Oschersleben – Race Reports
Audi & Corvette Take The Wins While Porsche Leads The Championship

The ADAC GT Masters season opener saw 25 cars travel to the Motorsportarena Oschersleben to take part in the first two of the 16-race season. In qualifying, reigning champion Maximilian Götz showed that he didn’t need much time to adapt to his new team, HTP Motorsport Polarweiss Racing, when he took the pole position for the first race of the 2013 season. Minutes later, his teammate Maximilian Buhk followed it up by also setting the fastest time in the second qualifying session, giving HTP Motorsport two first-place starting positions.

Behind Götz, three Porsche 911 GT3 Rs lined up to make up positions two through four, with Christian Engelhart (Schütz Motorsport), Philipp Frommenwiler (Farnbacher Racing) and Robert Renauer (Herberth Motorsport), while the second HTP SLS in the hands of Sergey Afanasiev took fifth. For Race 2 the grid line-up was much more diverse, with Daniel Keilwitz in his Callaway Corvette qualifying second ahead of Chris Mamerow in the Prosperia C.Abt Racing Audi and Jeroen den Boerg in the DB Motorsport Z4 GT3. Robert Renauer’s teammate Martin Ragginger put the Herbert Motorsport 911 onto fifth grid position.

Race 1

Götz wasn’t able to keep his lead for long when the lights switched from red to green, as he tangled with Engelhart in the Schütz Motorsport Porsche at the first corner, giving the lead to Renauer; who was able to get away from the rest of the cars, building up a 15-second gap by the time he handed the 911 over to Ragginger. Second and third at the time of the mandatory pit stops were Philipp Frommenwiler and Sergey Afanasiev.

With Ragginger behind the wheel, the Herberth 911 lost more and more of the lead it held over the Farnbacher Racing Porsche, which now had Mario Farnbacher behind the wheel.

The reason for this was a problem in the exhaust system of Ragginger’s car. Eventually Farnbacher was able to slip past Ragginger, but his lead also didn’t last too long - a hard charging René Rast in one of the Prosperia-Audis charging from the back towards the front.

Rast took the lead with ten minutes left on the clock, and had extended his lead to eight seconds by the time he took the chequered. The victory also meant that Christopher Mies and René Rast gave the revamped Audi R8 LMS ultra a win on its GT Masters debut.

With his car’s exhaust problem, Ragginger still wasn’t assured of having a podium finish and had to hold off Dino Lunardi in the Yaco-Racing Audi R8 LMS Ultra until the very end. The brand new Ford GT took fifth place in the hands of Nico Verdonck and Frank Kechele, ahead of the Prosperia-Duo Chris Mamerow/ Christer Jöns.

Running in the top three in the early phase of the race, the HTP Motorsport Mercedes of Andreas Simonsen and Sergey Afanasiev crossed the line in seventh. In a close battle Claudia Hürtgen, in the Schubert BMW, was able to hold off Rahel Frey, in the third Prosperia Audi, taking eighth and ninth respectively. Andreas Wirth and Christian Hohenadel took the final championship point by finishing tenth. Christina Nielsen, sharing a Farnbacher-Porsche with Allan Simonsen, was able to take the victory in the Gentlemen trophy.

Race 2

The second race-start went much better for the two Maximilians in the HTP-Mercedes Benz SLS AMG GT3, with Buhk still giving up his lead but being able to stay in second position.

Slipping past the gullwinged sportscar was Daniel Keilwitz aboard the Callaway Corvette, but up until the opening of the pitlane for the mandatory pitstops, the two were racing nose to tail. However, the HTP car was taken out of the fight for the lead, when it had to take a Stop/Go penalty for not respecting the mandatory pitstop time.

Moving up to second was the DB Motorsport BMW Z4 GT3 of Simon Knap and Jeroen den Boer, but neither was able to challenge Daniel Keilwitz or his teammate Diego Alessi for the lead, giving the Corvette duo a first victory for the 2013 season.

Knap and den Boer were still able to celebrate a second place.

Just like in Race 1, a hard fight for the final podium spot lasted until the drop of the chequered flag. Philipp Frommenwiler, on his ADAC GT Masters debut, was able to hold off Ragginger for third position. Close behind the two Porsches, the HTP SLS of Afanasiev and Simonsen crossed the line. Best Audi-finisher was the car of Christer Jöns and Chris Mamerow in sixth, while their teammates Rast and Mies had to retire after Mies clashed with Max Sandritter in the Schubert BMW.

Claudia Hürtgen and Dominik Baumann took their Schubert BMW to seventh place, ahead of the Lambda Ford GT.

Coming back from its penalty the SLS of Buhk and Götz took ninth, while Jörg Müller and Max Sandritter took the final point. Just holding on for the win the in the Gentlemen Trophy was Rene Bourdeaux and his partner Alfred Renauer, who crossed the line about half a second ahead of the Nielsen/ Simonsen Porsche.

With their two Podium finishes, Philipp Frommenwiler and Mario Farnbacher are the championship leaders after the first ADAC GT Masters weekend, and take their 33 points to the next round at Spa-Francorchamps. Second are Martin Ragginger/ Robert Renauer, ahead of Diego Alessi/ Daniel Keilwitz. Christina Nielsen leads the Gentlemen-Trophy.

Race 1 result – here
Race 2 result - here

Sören Herweg