There should be a flash banner here. There are 2 main reasons why you may not be able to see it:
  • You do not have the required version of Flash MX installed (v8.0+) in your browser
  • JavaScript is disabled in your browser

ADAC GT Master Oschersleben – Race Reports
Alpina And Porsche Take The Wins

In the qualifying session for the two opening races of the ADAC GT Masters races, the pole positions went to Christer Jöns in the Prosperia uhc speed Audi R8 LMS Ultra and the BMW Alpina B6 GT3 with Maxime Martin behind the wheel.

Alas, the first casualty of the weekend was the Molitor-Racing McLaren MP-12C GT3 of Erwin Stückle and Patrick Huismann.

Race One

Just as the race was about to get underway, a rain shower fell over the Motorsportarena Oschersleben, causing a slippery track and some intense racing. Best at coping with those conditions proved to be Diego Alessi in the Callaway-Competition Corvette Z06 GT3, the Italian coming from seventh on the grid.

Christer Jöns and Sebastian Asch, in the MS-Racing Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3, both fell out of contention when they had a contact at the first corner, resulting in an extra pit stop.

Alessi’s lead didn’t last for long, as the Italian had to dive for the pits on Lap 5 to change back from his rain tyres to slicks; this gave the lead to Robert Renauer in the Frogreen Porsche 911 GT3 R. After handing over to his team-mate Nicki Thiim, the young Danish driver had to let through Maxime Martin in the Alpina B6 GT3 and Dominik Schwager aboard the Schubert BMW Z4 GT3.

Martin didn’t have to surrender his lead before the chequered flag, making it three race wins in three lifetime races for the young Belgian.

This also gave reigning champion Dino Lunardi the first championship lead of the season. Schwager kept the pressure on until the end of the race but didn’t find a way past the Alpina, so he and co driver Claudia Hürtgen had to settle for second ahead of the Frogreen Porsche of Thiim and Renauer.

A surprise fourth position went to the sole Ford GT in the field, with Nico Verdonck and Jesse Krohn missing the podium by a narrow margin. Fifth went to the Schütz Motorsport Porsche, which Christian Engelhart and Nick Tandy shared, while the next two places went to the Mercedes of Dominik Baumann/Hari Proczyk and Daniel Dobitsch /Florian Stoll.

Young Driver AMR were able to score their first points on their ADAC GT Masters debut with their Aston Martin Vantage GT3, with Kristian Poulsen and Christoffer Nygaard taking eight place. Poulsen also took the win in the amateur class. After its early race clash the MS-Racing Mercedes of Sebastian Asch and Maximilian Götz got some redemption by finishing in ninth, with the final point going to the Molitor Racing McLaren of Alexander Müller and Christian Ott.

Race Two

Pole-sitter Maxime Martin was able to take the lead in his green Alpina when the lights changed to green, but the Belgian had to endure heavy pressure from Frank Kechele aboard the Callaway-Competition Corvette Z06 GT3.

But Kechele fell from the lead group on Lap 7 when his ‘Vette was hit with electric problems; these stemming from the development to the muscle car over the winter and a lack of time to go testing.

But even with Kechele out of the fight for the lead Maxime Martin didn’t get a chance for a breather, as he was put under heavy pressure by Nick Tandy aboard the Schütz Motorsport Porsche 911 GT3 R. On Lap 11 Tandy was able to get past the Alpina to take the lead.

After the mandatory pit stops, Tandy’s co driver Christian Engelhart kept the lead and even when Sebastian Asch aboard the MS-Racing Alpina put him under heavy pressure, the Schütz Porsche didn’t surrender its lead and gave the team a win on its debut weekend.

Sebastian Asch came home second ahead of the Corvette Z06 GT3 of Daniel Keilwitz and Diego Alessi. By finishing fourth Dino Lunardi and Maxime Martin will head to the next round at Zandvoort as the championship leaders. The next places went to the three Mercedes Benz SLS AMG GT3s of Heico Motorsport, with the duo of Andreas Simonsen/Maximilian Buhk finishing ahead of Hari Proczyk/Dominik Baumann and Kenneth Heyer/Christiaan Frankenhout. The DB Motorsport duo Jeroen den Boer and Simon Knap picked up eighth place ahead of the next Heico SLS of Lance-David Arnold and Alexandros Margaritis.

The final championship point went to the Fach Auto Tech Porsche 911 GT3 R of Martin Ragginger and Swen Dolenc; this also meant the amateur class victory for Dolenc. All this despite Ragginger being turned around by Dominik Schwager early on in the race, with this incident also resulting in a drive through penalty for Schwager in the Schubert Z4.

Heinz-Harald Frentzen and Andreas Wirth had no luck all weekend long; the duo failing to score any points because of problems with the new 6.2 litre engine in their Corvette Z06 GT3.

The next round of the ADAC GT Masters takes place from May 4th till 6th at Zandvoort.

Sören Herweg