There should be a flash banner here. There are 2 main reasons why you may not be able to see it:
  • You do not have the required version of Flash MX installed (v8.0+) in your browser
  • JavaScript is disabled in your browser

ADAC GT Masters Oschersleben – Race Reports
Alpina All Weekend As Abt Wins The Championship

Race 1

Just like at the Nürburgring the weather was bad - freezing cold temperatures and wet weather greeted the 21 cars for the final round of the German GT championship. Right from the start the Alpinas of Maxime Martin and Jens Klingmann dominated the race; both of the green cars able to separate themselves from the field fairly quick.

Behind them a three pack of Audis took the hunt to them, led by Christopher Mies ahead of Florian Gruber and Christopher Haase.

Tim Bergmeister, the 2008 champion, was already charging through the field and was able to drive to sixth position, right behind the Audi trio. After the rounds of pit stops nothing had really changed in the running order, and only the final ten laps brought some excitement. Frank Kechele was able to get up close to Christian Abt; getting by fairly easy, as Abt knew he only had to finish the race in the current running order to win his championship. This meant that the Argo Audi R8 LMS of Frank Kechele was en route to its second podium in the past two races.

After 34 Laps Claudia Hürtgen saw the chequered flag, seizing the second victory for the Alpina in the GT Masters. Hürtgen was also the first female to score a win in the GT Masters.

Second place went to her Alpina teammate Andreas Wirth. Third place went to the Argo Racing Audi R8 LMS, ahead of the two Abt Audis. The fourth place finish meant that Christian Abt hat won the GT Masters championship; his first championship in 10 years.

Sixth place went to the Mühlner Motorsport Porsche of Tim Bergmeister and Frank Schmickler, finishing ahead of the Corvette of Toni Seiler and Christian Hohenadel and the Ford GT of Walter Lechner Jr. and Christoffer Nygaard.

Race 2

Richard Westbrook used his pole position to lead away from the start. The Briton driving for Mühlner Motorsport scored the first pole for a Porsche in the German GT championship. Christian Hohenadel spun on the opening lap, resulting in the Corvette falling back through the field.

Dino Lunardi had a fabulous start, being third after the first lap behind Westbrook and Hürtgen. Lunardi was able to get past Hürtgen on lap four but couldn’t get past Westbrook. After several tries Lunardi used some late breaking to get by the Porsche. Westbrook and Hürtgen were able to keep their third position, while Peter Terting, Frank Kechele and Marc Hennerici were battling for positions four through six.

After the pit stops Lunardi’s partner Diego Alessi had troubles in the wet conditions, allowing Maxime Martin in the Alpina to retake the lead. Alessi was able to hold onto the second position ahead of Luca Ludwig, his Callaway teammate. Behind them the Argo Audi, Mühlner Porsche of Johannes Stuck and Richard Westbrook, the Rosberg Audi of Nicolas Armindo and the Abt Audi of Florian Gruber were fighting for fourth position. 

Armindo was able to get past the other cars for fourth position, and Kuba Giermaziak in the Argo Audi held fifth after Johannes Stuck and Florian Gruber got together, letting the second Abt Audi fall out of the points.

At the lead Maxime Martin scored the second win of the weekend for himself and the Alpina B6 GT3.

Second place went to the Callaway Corvette of Dino Lunardi and Diego Alessi, ahead of their teammates Marc Hennerici and Luca Ludwig; which meant the second championship position for Hennerici and Ludwig.

Fourth place went to the Rosberg Audi of Nicolas Armindo and Cesar Campanico, ahead of the Mühlner Porsche of Stuck/Westbrook and the Argo Audi. Newly crowned champion Christian Abt finished seventh, while the final point went to the Mühlner Porsche of Tim Bergmeister and Frank Schmickler.

While Abt won the driver’s championship, Callaway competition won the team title.

Race one result - here
Race two resut - here
Final driver points - here
Final team points - here

Sören Herweg