There should be a flash banner here. There are 2 main reasons why you may not be able to see it:
  • You do not have the required version of Flash MX installed (v8.0+) in your browser
  • JavaScript is disabled in your browser

ADAC GT Masters News Round Up
Another Great Season On The Horizon

Last year saw the ADAC GT Masters season come down to the wire, with the MS Racing Mercedes Benz SLS AMG GT3 of Sebastian Asch and Maximilian Götz winning the overall championship in the final race of the year at Hockenheim. For 2013 there is another exciting season on the horizon, so it’s time for DSC to catch up with the developments in Germany’s premiere GT championship.

Last year’s championship-winning squad MS Racing is ditching Mercedes Benz and with the support of their sponsor has purchased two brand new 2013-spec Audi R8 LMS ultra.  No drivers have been named yet for the cockpit of the two Bavarian sportscars, but there should be a decent chance to see at least one of last year’s champions back with the team from the Black Forest. In addition, Prosperia UHC Speed and Mamerow Performance are going to trust in the 2013 version of the Audi R8. At Prosperia UHC Speed, former DTM racer Christian Abt has joined the ownership group, so a return to the cockpit for Abt might not be in the cards. Each of the two Prosperia cars has one driver nominated so far, with Christopher Mies and Carsten Tielke respectively. At Mamerow Performance it’s expected that Chris Mamerow is going to take up one of the seats.

As of right now the sole representative of Mercedes Benz is H.T.P. Motorsport, which has taken over the operations of Heico Motorsport. After Heico fielded four cars for the past two years, its successor is now scaling back to fielding just two of the Gullwings. Maximilian Buhk, last year’s GT3 Europe champion, has been nominated as the lead driver.

In addition to their program in the Blancpain Endurance Series, Molitor Racing is also planning on tackling the GT Masters with their two McLaren MP4-12C GT3, but no drivers have been named so far. Last year’s McLaren representative, Gemballa-Racing, has decided to cease their racing activities for the time being. Sole representative teams also come from Lambda-Performance with their Ford GT and Yaco Racing with their screaming Chevrolet Camaro GT.

A new name on the ADAC GT Masters entry list is Herberth Motorsport, but the Bavarian team is actually a long established member of the GT Masters community. Last year they fielded the efforts of Team GT3 Kasko and Frogreen CO2 Neutral, bringing up to four Porsche 911 GT3 Rs to the track in 2012. For 2013 the team will be one of the strongest of the Porsche representatives, Martin Ragginger and Robert Renauer leading the effort. In the other car, Robert’s twin brother Alfred will share the driving duties with René Bordeaux. The twins are also team principals at Herberth Motorsport; being forced to take over the running of the team after their father, Alfred Herberth, died in a motorcycle accident.

Nielsen, Farnbacher and Porsche - that’s a combination every DSC reader knows from the days when Lars Erik Nielsen raced a Porsche 911 GT3 RSR fielded by Farnbacher Racing in the Le Mans Series and 24 Hours of Le Mans. But this time it’s not Lars Erik that will take the place behind the wheel of the Porsche 911 GT3 R, but actually his daughter Christina. The young Dane already has experience in a Porsche race car; last year she did the German Carrera Cup and also had outings in the GT3 Challenge Middle East. Joining her will be Mario Farnbacher, son of team boss Horst Farnbacher. Rounding out the Porsche fleet is last year’s third place finisher, Schütz Motorsport, but again no drivers have yet been nominated for this squad.

 Callaway Competition has been one of the mainstays of the ADAC GT Masters, fielding cars from the series’ inception in 2007; and for 2013 it’s once again back to fielding four cars in total - two under their own Callaway Competition banner, plus an additional two for Toni Seiler Racing. While no drivers have been nominated for the two Seiler cars, the Callaway cars will both see strong lineups. Diego Alessi and Daniel Keilwitz are back together, and after finishing runner up in 2012 the two will definitely be one of the championship contenders. But they will also have strong in-team opposition, as Andreas Wirth and Christian Hohenadel will share the second Callaway Corvette Z06 GT3. Hohenadel of course won the FIA GT3 Europe in the ‘Vette in 2010, while Wirth raced the car last year.

After a strong start in 2012, the team of Schubert Motorsport and their BMW Z4 GT3 fell off during the later part of the season, taking out early championship hopefuls Dominik Schwager and Claudia Hürtgen in the final stages. For the new season, Schubert Motorsport has signed up with two BMW Z4 GT3 and will have two uber-strong line ups; Jörg Müller will share one car with Max Sandritter, while Claudia Hürtgen will have reigning GT3 Europe Champion Dominik Baumann as her teammate. Another BMW Z4 GT3 comes from DB Motorsport for Simon Knap and Jeroen den Boer, which also is looking at the possibility of fielding a second car.

The full entry list of the ADAC GT Masters is supposed to be released in the next two weeks and will definitely hold some surprise, which we can’t yet reveal.

Sören Herweg