There should be a flash banner here. There are 2 main reasons why you may not be able to see it:
  • You do not have the required version of Flash MX installed (v8.0+) in your browser
  • JavaScript is disabled in your browser
Dunlop Le Mans

International GT Open, Spa Francorchamps - Race Reports

Bruni and Leo Take The Win In Race One

Gimmi Bruni and Federico Leo took their second GT Open win of the 2012 in Race One at Spa-Francorchamps after dominating from flag to flag in their AF Corse Ferrari.

The Italian pair beat the Villois Racing Aston Martin Vantage of Alvaro Barba and Matteo Malucelli, and the Aabar Villorba Ferrari of Andrea Montermini-Cochito Lopez. With the retirement of Tandy-Holzer in the Manthey Porsche, Malucelli-Barba now lead in the championship.

AF Corse also won in the GTS class, following a perfect race for Stefano Bizzarri-Andrea Rizzoli;  Bizarri then grabs his second win of the season and adds to his points lead.

Lapidus Racing gave McLaren its first podium in the GT Open, with Klaas Hummel-Adam Christodoulou finishing 2nd ahead of the Kessel Racing Ferrari of Daniel Zampieri-Michael Dalle Stelle.

At the start, Tandy kept his pole advantage but only up to the Kemmel straight, having to concede the lead to Bruni, but securing second after a furious battle with Peter, Barba and Ramos, with Montermini coming strong from behind.

In GTS, Bizzarri led Dalle Stelle, Ladygin, Alexander and Ardagna. Hamilton spinning at La Source on lap 2.

Lap 5 saw contact between Piccini and Sijthof, with both suffering some tyre damage.

While Bruni quickly built a 7-second advantage, there was a fierce battle for third between Peter and Barba which was soon joined by Montermini. The trio caught a seemingly tyre troubled Tandy and the battle became a four car affair for second.

After the pit stops, Leo emerged with a 21 second lead over Broniszewski and Malucelli (who passed the Kessel Racing man Pole soon afterwards).

Lopez was fourth, followed by Holzer,  Giammaria (who had a slight off-track moment after contact with a lapped car) and Pilet all in a close fight.

Pilet passed the Italian and gained two more positions when Holzer stopped in the pits with his tyres finished tires and Giammaria spun at La Source.

Rizzoli was 8th and first GTS  with Zampieri and Christodoulou battling in the final laps, the Brit eventually securing second.

Before the end of the race there was a 20 second penalty for the Kessel Ferrari of Broniszewski, as a result of Phillip Peter not respecting the track limits during his stint.

Manthey Porsche Wins Race 2 - IMSA Performance Lead Championship

Marco Holzer and Nick Tandy, in the Manthey Racing Porsche 911 RSR, took their third win of the season in Race 2 at Spa-Francorchamps. 

Typical Spa weather conditions, with rain and cool temperatures proved ideal for the Porsches, with Patrick Pilet-Raymond Narac (IMSA Performance) finishing 2nd and now taking the lead in the championship.

Daniel Zampieri and Michael Dalle Stelle drove a superb race to take third overall and a first well-deserved win in GTS, with their Kessel Racing Ferrari 458, ahead of the Lapidus McLaren of Christodoulou-Hummel, again second in GTS, and the Ferrari of the debuting Russian Bears Motorsport, with Miguel Toril-Kyrill Ladygin.

The track was soaked at the start, the pole-setting Villois Aston pitting after the formation lap after going off-track with a blocked throttle.  The Mosler of Unzurrunzaga was another non-starter.

At the start, in dreadful conditions, Holzer took the lead and defended it from the attacks of Pilet for two laps before the Frenchman went wide into a corner.

Behind, Giammaria ran third (but spun on lap 4 when pushed by Kox), ahead of an inspired Zampieri, Christodoulou, Kox, Rizzoli, Leo, Moncini and Bontempelli, while Lopez stopped in the pits on lap 5 with set-up troubles.

By lap 8, Pilet was back on the tail of Holzer and he passed the German at the chicane on lap 8 to take the lead.

After the pit stop, Tandy retook the lead, with a few seconds of advantage on Narac (who changed tires), then Dalle Stelle, leading GTS, Hummel, Stijnhof, Hamilton and Bruni, while Pronk and Mowlem spun and there was some slight contact between Bizzarri and Peter.

In the last laps, Tandy increased his advantage, with Narac and Dalle Stelle ensuring their podium positions, followed by Sijthof, Bruni, Peter and Hummel, while there was some wild action between Bizzarri, Hamilton and Ardagna on the last lap for third in GTS, with Ladygin pipping everybody.

Race 2 Result

1 8 Nick Tandy/Marco Holzer Manthey Racing Porsche 997 GT3 RSR 2012 SGT 18 laps 50:31.198
2 16 Patrick Pilet/Raymond Narac Imsa Performance Matmut Porsche 997 GT3 RSR 2012 SGT +34.050
3 44 Michael Dalle Stelle/Daniel Zampieri Kessel Racing Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GTS  +1:01.411
4 19 Emanuele Moncini/Diederich Sijthoff V8 Racing Chevrolet Corvette C6R SGT +1:05.229
5 4 Gianmaria Bruni/Federico Leo AF Corse Ferrari 458 GT Italia SGT +1:07.192
6 11 Philipp Peter/Michael Broniszewski Kessel Racing Ferrari 458 GT Italia SGT  +1:08.330
7 62 Adam Christodoulou/Klaas Hummel Lapidus Racing McLaren MP 4-12C GT3 GTS +1:18.942
8 67 Kirill Ladygin/Miguel Toril Russian Bears Motorsport Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GTS +1:33.202
9 56 Andrea Rizzoli/Stefano Bizzarri AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GTS +1:34.094
10 54 Archie Hamilton/Marco Mapelli Autorlando Sport Porsche 997 GT3 R GTS +1:35.486
11 9 Johnny Mowlem Lotus Giudici Racing Lotus Evora GTE SGT  +1:39.327
12 60 Lorenzo Bontempelli/Mario Cordoni Ombra Racing Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GTS +1:42.707
13 5 Alexander Talkanitsa, jr/Alexander Talkanitsa, sr AT Racing Team Ferrari 458 GT Italia SGT +1:48.629
14 17 Raffaele Giammaria/Miguel Ramos V8 Racing Chevrolet Corvette C6R SGT +2:15.056
15 64 Guiseppe Cirò/Gaetano Ardagna AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GTS +1 Lap
16 2 Juan López/Andrea Montermini Scuderia Villorba Ferrari 458 GT Italia SGT +1 Lap
17 53 Andrea Cecchellero/Massimo Mantovani Kessel Racing Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GTS +1 Lap
18 52 Freddy Kremer/Steven Earle Kessel Racing Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GTS +1 Lap
19 7 Giacomo Piccini/Ferdinando Geri Drivex School Porsche 911 GT3 RSR SGT +1 Lap
20 51 Iradj Alexander/Alan Calari Kessel Racing Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GTS +1 Lap
21 65 Howard Blank/Yannick Mallegol AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GTS +1 Lap
22 66 Sergey Zlobin/Boris Rotenberg Russian Bears Motorsport Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GTS +1 Lap
23 58 Henrik Haane/Martin Lanting AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 GTS +2 Laps
24 6 Miguel de Castro/Miguel Amaral Drivex School Porsche 997 GT3 RSR 2012 SGT +2 Laps

Not classified:
76 Peter Kox/Nico Pronk Reiter Engineering Lamborghini Gallardo LP600+ GTS 11 laps

Did Not Start
12 Matteo Malucelli/Álvaro Barba Villois Racing Aston Martin Vantage SGT
18 Rafael Unzurrunzaga Blue Jumeirah Team Mosler MT900 GT3 GTS