There should be a flash banner here. There are 2 main reasons why you may not be able to see it:
  • You do not have the required version of Flash MX installed (v8.0+) in your browser
  • JavaScript is disabled in your browser

VLN, 34th DMV Münsterlandpokal – Race Report
The Hattrick For Mamerow And A Second Title For Black Falcon

Black Falcon successfully defended its BFGoodrich Langstreckenmeisterschaft Nürburgring title in the season finale, when the crew of Alexander Böhm, Christer Jöns and Sean Paul Breslin crowned their season with a ninth class win. “We have competed in the championship to defend the title”, said Böhm after the race. “It was not at all an easy job this year – we are hence particularly glad that we made it.” In addition to the victory in the drivers’ championship, Black Falcon could also again celebrate taking the title in the VLN Series Production Cup. Jöns moreover won the VLN Junior Trophy for the second consecutive time.

Chris Mamerow and Dirk Werner secured the last race win of the 2009 season in their Porsche 911 GT3 Cup S; the duo taking the chequered flag after four hours with an advantage of 1:12.596 ahead of Marcel Tiemann and Emmanuel Collard in the Porsche 911 GT3 RSR entered by Manthey-Racing. Frank Biela, Marc Basseng and Frank Stippler in the Audi R8 LMS completed the positions on the podium.

In defending their title, last year‘s champion Böhm and his team will go down in history, and we need to go back to 1996 and 1997 to see a similar success – at that time achieved by Dirk Adorf. From the perspective of a team, it was even in 1994 and 1995 that a team’s title was successfully defended. Both titles at that time were awarded to Scheid-Motorsport. “Fantastic”, was the comment of Jöns. “Now everything is really concrete after we had practically gained the championship already after the last race. We are so happy that we have achieved all of our targets – we will now have a great party!”

Rolf Derscheid and Michael Flehmer in the BMW 318 iS missed their eighth win in the class of VLN series cars up to 1.800 cc (V2) by only 0.633 seconds. The class was finally won by Michael Jestädt and Werner Schlehecker. With an advantage of 0.35 points over Tiemann, Derscheid/Flehmer defended their second position, although a second place scored at the fifth championship race now went down into the classification due to the two void results to be counted in the final championship results. Tiemann on his part has gained eight class wins but the number of competitors in his class, the VLN Specials up to 4.000 cc cylinder capacity (SP7), was normally lower than in V2.

“If someone had told us at the beginning of the season that we would score a total of four wins, I would have said he is crazy”, said Mamerow happily. The first half of the race was characterized by an exciting fight of the later winning Porsche race cars. Starting from pole position, Mamerow went into the lead with Thiemann following seconds behind, always within reach. “I was able to close up to Mamerow several times when braking”, related Tiemann.

“We missed however the last bit of performance to pass him”. After the first drivers’ change on lap eight, Collard was not able to match the pace of Werner in the Mamerow Porsche. The race driver from Switzerland moreover dropped back behind the Phoenix Audi which had a surprising race strategy after an early stop.

Werner extended his lead to more than a minute, whereas Tiemann, over the distance, was able to gain back second position in his Manthey Porsche.

Behind the leading group, five more cars were on the same lap. Johannes Stuck finished his first racing participation in the Audi R8 - together with his father Hans Joachim Stuck and Dennis Rosteck  - in fourth place ahead of Roland Rehfeld, Reinhold Renger and Mario Merten in the Kissling Corvette, Sabine Schmitz and Klaus Abbelen  in the Frikadelli Porsche, Altfried Heger, Marc Anton Bronzel and Sascha Bert in the Zakspeed-Viper and finally Georg Weiss, Michael Jacobs and Peter-Paul Pietsch in the Porsche of the Wochenspiegel Team Manthey. The team of Stian Sorlie, Andreas Wirth and Csaba Walter then were the first ones to finish the race in the BMW Alpina GT3 with a gap of more than one lap behind the winners.

Race result - here
Final points tally - here