There should be a flash banner here. There are 2 main reasons why you may not be able to see it:
  • You do not have the required version of Flash MX installed (v8.0+) in your browser
  • JavaScript is disabled in your browser

ADAC GT Masters Hockenheimring - Race Reports

Weekend Gallery - Photography by Soren Herweg

Margaritis and Lunardi take the crown

The final two races of the ADAC GT Masters championship took place at the Hockenheimring and Alexandros Margaritis and Dino Lunardi arrived at the F1 track with a 28 point advantage over Johannes and Ferdinand Stuck with 50 points still up for grabs the Alpina B6 GT3 Duo would have to run into a lot of trouble in order to lose their sizable lead. And in the qualifying Margaritis and Lunardi showed that they were still working hard towards their championship dream, securing the pole position for both races of the weekend.

Race One

Dino Lunardi was able to take the lead at the Start of the one hour race, holding off Sebastian Asch in the a-workx Porsche 911 GT3 R. Lunardi’s championship challenger Ferdinand Stuck went wide into corner one and lost several places, falling back to sixth place. Further back the Novidem Swissracing Audi R8 LMS of Pierre Mentlen, the Mühlner-Porsche driven by Frank Schmickler and Christopher Haase were involved in a heavy crash, prompting race control to deploy the safety car. After was given the go, Sebastian Asch was able to keep up with the Alpina, but then Asch clashed with Peter Kox in one of the Reiter Lamborghini, taking the Porsche out of the race.

After Alexandros Margaritis took over the wheel of the green Alpina, the former DTM-Driver controlled its fate and his gap towards its competitors. After one hour Margaritis crossed the line giving the Alpina B6 its first GT3 championship. Johannes Stuck finished second, ahead of the Phoenix-Racing Audi R8 LMS of Stefan Landmann and René Rast.

Last years GT Masters champion Albert von Thurn und Taxis together with Philip Geipel crossed the line in fourth place, one ahead of the Primajob Team Heico Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 of Andreas Zuber and Lance David Arnold. Mario Farnbacher, subbing for his brother Dominik, who was racing at Petit Le Mans, did a superb job aboard the Ferrari 458 Italia, the youngest Farnbacher and Niclas Kentenich crossed the line in sixth after fighting for the top positions early in the race.

The next two places went to the Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 of Dominik Baumann / Harald Proczyk and Maximilian Mayer / Maximilian Götz. The fight for the final two point positions seriously went down to the line with Heinz Harald Frentzen crossing the line just 0,066 seconds ahead of Daniel Dobitsch in the Fach Auto Tech Porsche 911 GT3 R. Frentzen also gave his partner Sven Hannawald the amateur class win.

Race Two

With the newly crowned champion Alexandros Margaritis and runner-up places Johannes Stuck starting from row one, it was clear that the race should be one of the of the best of the years and the Engstler-Alpina and Stuck-Lamborghini took it by heart, going side by side through the first couple of corners around the Hockenheimring. But then it was Johannes Stuck coming out on top and taking the lead, which he and his brother were able too keep until seconds were left on the clock, he was already on his final lap turning into the Motodrom section of the circuit when his Lamborghini Gallardi LP600+ ran out of fuel.

Ferdinand Stuck was able the keep the car going, but fell back to fifth position. A heartbreaking loss for the two sons of Hans-Joachim Stuck. At that time the Alpina B6 GT3 was already out of the race, shortly after Dino Lunardi took over the car during the mandatory pit stop, the Frenchman parked the car with a gearbox failure.

The tough luck for the Stuck Lamborghini handed the final victory of the 2011 ADAC GT Masters season to the Phoenix-Racing Audi R8 LMS of René Rast and Stefan Landmann. After having a superb race one, Mario Farnbacher continued, where he left off on Saturday and crossed the line in second position.

Third place went to the MS-Racing Mercedes Benz SLS AMG GT3 of Maximilian Mayer and Maximilian Götz, giving the two Maximilian’s its first podium finish in their 2011 campaign. Also able to slip past the Stuck-Lamborghini was their team mate Albert von Thurn und Taxis and Philip Geipel.

Last years FIA GT3 Champion Daniel Keilwitz, together with Diego Alessi, crossed the line in sixth, ahead of the Team rhino’s Leipert Motorsport Lamborghini Gallardo LP600+ of Miki Vähamäki and David Mengesdorf. Lance-David Arnold and Andreas Zuber finished in seventh, with the Hegersport Porsche 911 GT3 R of Nicolas Armindo and Stefand Wendt finishing one place behind the SLS. The final point of the race went to Peter Kox and Marc A. Hayek, giving Hayek the amateur class win and so securing him the amateur championship.

Scoring 189 points over 14 races gave Alexandros Margaritis and Dino Lunardi aboard their Alpina B6 GT3, gave the duo the championship. Runner-up went to the Stuck brothers Ferdinand and Johannes. Christopher Mies, who didn’t score a single point during the Hockenheim Round, took third place in the final point standings, his former teammate Luca Ludwig finished 11 points behind him in fourth place.

The team championship went to the Reiter Engineering team, who at times fielded four cars during the 2011 ADAC GT Masters season, but only the best placed car in each race scored points towards the team championship. Second place went to the Team Engstler ahead of  Abt Sportsline.

The amateur champion ship went to Marc A. Hayek, who shared his Lamborghini with Peter Kox, second place went to Swen Dolenc, who was driving a Porsche 911 GT3 R of Fach Auto Tech with Daniel Dobitsch. Third place went to the Black-Falcon Mercedes Driver Oliver Mayer, who went shared one of the Black Falcon SLS with either Jan Seyffarth or Thomas Jäger.

This wraps up the 2011 season of the ADAC GT Masters, for 2012 the calendar has already been announced and reads as the following:

13.04. – 15.04.2012 - Motorsport Arena Oschersleben
11.05. – 13.05.2012 - Zandvoort / Niederlande**
08.06. – 10.06.2012 - Sachsenring
13.07. – 15.07.2012 - Nürburgring (ADAC Truck Grand Prix)*
10.08. – 12.08.2012 - Red Bull-Ring / Österreich
31.08. – 02.09.2012 - Lausitzring
14.09. – 16.09.2012 - Nürburgring (Grand-Prix-Strecke)**
05.10. – 07.10.2012 - Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg

*Only ADAC GT Masters and ADAC Formel Masters
**Subject to confirmation by the organizer

Sören Herweg