There should be a flash banner here. There are 2 main reasons why you may not be able to see it:
  • You do not have the required version of Flash MX installed (v8.0+) in your browser
  • JavaScript is disabled in your browser

British GT Entry Update

We’ve been updating the likely 2013 British GT Championship entry list for some time now, mainly through collating the various announcements and press releases issued over the close season. With some of these turning out to be ‘intentions to compete’ rather than confirmed entries, it’s now time to look at what the grid is most likely to resemble come Easter weekend at Oulton Park.

Of course the main story over the past couple of weeks has revolved around the RJN/Nissan GT Academy situation, and DSC is aware of at least three more teams who have found themselves in a similar position. However, it is important to clarify that none of these teams have been refused an entry; instead the issue is about driver classifications and the subsequent penalties that come with running a Silver/Silver pairing (see separate item – here). Actually, it transpires that one entry has in fact been refused, but that is because the proposed driver pairing was Platinum/Platinum. Despite our cajoling, SRO has been steadfast in its refusal to reveal the identity of either the team or drivers involved.

As an aside, Championship Manager Benjamin Franassovici was a guest on Midweek Motorsport last night on to talk about this issue and it turned out to be a fascinating discussion. It’s well worth a listen, as and when the podcast becomes available.

The SRO has announced that it has received 26 confirmed (i.e. entry fees paid) entries for the season, but through discussions with various parties DSC believes the actual number is 30. Not all of the drivers have been announced yet, and in one case we are still awaiting the identity of the team (but we are hearing rumours of a very significant driver being linked to the project); but even as it stands, the entry is a mouth-watering one, with top Pros like Richard Westbrook, Allan Simonsen, Alvaro Parente and Mark Blundell, alongside up-and-coming talents like Joe Osborne, Matt Bell, Dan Brown and Tom Sharp. And let’s not forget that the Amateur drivers often produce some of the best – and cleanest – racing in the championship. Similarly, while fewer in number, the GT4 runners could well produce some memorable action in 2013.

Incidentally, is it significant that the Vita4One Italia Ferrari in last weekend’s GT Open Winter Series races was driven by Jay Palmer and Matteo Bobbi? We’ll have to wait and see.

So, in DSC’s view, this is the likely make-up of the BGT grid this year:

1) 888Optimum – BMW Z4 – Lee Mowle/Joe Osborne
2) 888Optimum – BMW Z4 – Steve Tandy/Dan Brown
3) AF Corse – Ferrari 458 – John Dhillon/Aaron Scott
4) Barwell Motorsport – Aston Martin Vantage – Richard Abra/Mark Poole
5) Barwell Motorsport – BMW Z4 GT3 – TBA/TBA
6) Beechdean Motorsport – Aston Martin Vantage – Andrew Howard/Jonny Adam
7) Ecurie Ecosse – BMW Z4 – TBA/Olly Bryant
8) FF Corse – Ferrari 458 – Gary Eastwood/Rob Barff
9) Fortec Motorsports – Mercedes AMG SLS – TBA/TBA
10) Ginetta – Ginetta G55 – Richard Sykes/Lawrence Tomlinson
11) IDL Racing with CWS – Ginetta G55 – Colin White/Tom Sharp
12) MTECH – Ferrari 458 –TBA/TBA
13) PGF- Kinfaun AMR – Aston Martin Vantage – Phil Dryburgh/John Gaw
14) Preci-Spark – Mercedes AMG SLS – David Jones/Godfrey Jones
15) Rosso Verde – Ferrari 458 – Hector Lester/Allan Simonsen
16) Team rhino's Leipert Motorsport – Lamborghini Gallardo LP600 – TBA/TBA
17) Trackspeed – Porsche 911 GT3 R – Jon Minshaw/Phil Keen
18) Trackspeed – Porsche 911 GT3 R – Gregor Fisken/Richard Westbrook
19) United Autosports – McLaren MP4-12C – Zak Brown/Alvaro Parente
20) United Autosports – McLaren MP4-12C – Richard Meins/Mark Blundell
21) United Autosports – Audi R8 LMS ultra – Mark Patterson/Matt Bell
22) Vita4One Italia – Ferrari 458 – TBA/TBA
23) TBA – Audi R8 LMS ultra – TBA/TBA

24) APO Sport – Ginetta G50 – James May/Alex Osborne
25) Century Motorsport – Ginetta G50 – Declan Jones/TBA
26) Complete Racing – Aston Martin GT4 – Steve Chaplin/Tom Wilson
27) Optimum Motorsport – Ginetta G50 – Ryan Ratcliffe/Rick Parfitt Jnr
28) GPRM – Toyota GT86 – TBA/TBA

29) FF Corse – Ferrari 458 Challenge – TBA/TBA
30) Automobili Lamborghini Racing Team UK – Lamborghini Trofeo – TBA/TBA

Status Unknown/Possible Race-By-Race Entries
AF Corse – Ferrari 458 – TBA/TBA
Apex Motorsport – McLaren MP4-12C – Jim Geddie/Glynn Geddie
FF Corse – Ferrari 458 – TBA/TBA
Fortec Motorsports – Mercedes AMG SLS – TBA/TBA
Ginetta – Ginetta G55 – TBA/TBA
JMH Automotive –  Nissan GTR – TBA/Freddie Hetherington
Jordan Racing – Chevron GT3 – Jordan Witt/TBA (Invitation Class)
Motorbase – Porsche 911 GT3 R – TBA/TBA
Motorbase – Porsche 911 GT3 R – TBA/TBA
MTECH – Ferrari 458 – TBA/TBA
Scuderia Vittoria – TBA – TBA/TBA
Stark by Hepworth – Ginetta G55 – TBA/TBA
Team rhino's Leipert Motorsport – Lamborghini Gallardo LP600 – TBA/TBA
Trackspeed – Porsche 911 GT3 R – TBA/TBA
Vita4One Italia – Ferrari 458 – TBA/TBA
GPRM – Toyota GT86 – TBA/TBA
Lotus Sport UK – Lotus Evora – TBA/TBA
Lotus Sport UK – Lotus Evora – TBA/TBA
Optimum Motorsport – Ginetta G50 – TBA/TBA
Jordan Racing – Chevron GT – TBA/TBA